What does your Hi mean

The other day a friend pinged me and I replied with a ‘Hi’ without giving it a second thought.

His next line: What’s wrong with you?

Me: Huh? Nothing. Why?

He: Chal na. Tell me what happened.

Me: Arre! Why do you feel something’s wrong?

He: You said Hi. Nothing else. No emojis. Its weird. Even for you.

Me: Come on. That doesn’t mean anything.

He: Ok, fine. My phone isn’t charged. I’m logging off. Talk to you later.

Me: No wait. We have to talk.

He: *sarcastically* Oh, we do? What a surprise!

Then I proceeded to tell him what was on my mind. 

Although I loved the fact that he expertly understood the unspoken, I was amused that a mere greeting gave me away. 😬

Friends are the strangest and sweetest. Aren’t they? :):)

49 thoughts on “What does your Hi mean

      1. I would like to believe I get him as well. I catch every sign and especially the ones he’s hiding. It is a two-way street indeed. He has his and I have mine. We argue a lot but never miss waving at each other from our ends. 😉😂

        Like

  1. yes some people get the unspoken things very well..there was this canteen boy in my office and we have little chit chat every day..one day i was upset but i tried to have normal talk but he told me sir something has happened to you today . I had to admire him for that later ☺☺

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ah well. I didn’t start off to test him, honestly. I wasn’t sure if I should share the matter or was it too silly to bother anyone with. But yes, he passed the mock test with flying colours. 😁

      Liked by 1 person

    1. I generally zone out when I don’t feel good, but people like this guy claw at me until I let it all out. Thank god for them! 😊😊
      I love using emojis a lot. Indeed, I use them with caution in social media, but like you said they add to the dynamics. Thanks for the comment Shailaja. ☺☺

      Liked by 2 people

      1. Haha…if you found the conversations in this post even remotely relatable to the ones in your post, you should probably stop trying to decipher their meaning. This was a real conversation. When friends talk they don’t usually dissect each other’s grammar or word usage.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

