Age is just a number

We were kids when Hum Paanch was aired in which the cute Kiran instantly went “Aunty mat kaho na” every time someone called her so. The girls enjoyed the little fun prank with her, and so did everyone who saw it. So much so that we eagerly waited for her to show up and do that dismissing hand gesture and the irritated facial expression in every episode.

However, that isn’t the case with most middle-aged or aged women I’ve come across in real life. While they do look fondly upon their days of youth, they welcome the progressive stages in life with elegance and poise. This probably has something to do with the fact that nature has imparted matured women with the ‘old wine’ charm that is famously known to everyone! 🙂

I made peace with being called Aunty quite early in life; even by teenagers. Ignore and let go if you don’t want them to be persistently at it. My neighbour’s cute teenage daughter is quite an exception though. She has picked fights with her friends for me whenever they casually referred to me using the word. “Does she look like Aunty to you?” is her argument every time. 😀

References or numbers cannot decide our age or what we stand for. Youngsters aren’t necessarily reckless and carefree; they can be worldly wise too. Parents don’t always preach and discipline, they can be goofy and quirky too. It just depends on how much in touch you are with your younger self.

37 thoughts on “Age is just a number

  1. I have wondered to myself occasionally, what if I were 18 or 19 or 20 again, knowing what I know now, what goals would I set for myself? The answers are very different than they were then, and they are different than what I would say now — because somewhere along the line I decided, “You’re too old for that goal or to do such-and-such.” I think this might be true for a lot of people. Thanks for your post.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sure it might be. The moment we start putting barriees on ourselves due to age-related factors we’re robbing ourselves of the opportunities that come along with them too. I’ve seen grandmas getting degrees with their grandsons. We only need to decide what we want and stick to it.
      Thanks for your comment. ☺

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Wonderful post 😊. I was planning to write a post on uncle/aunty matter only yesterday and here i see a post 😊
    First time it upset me so much that i inturn addressed the person back as uncle/aunty but over the time it does not matter any more and sometimes i address people even older than me as beta!!

    But yes one must always have zeal for life irrespective of age..i enjoy interacting with colleagues in early twenties and not once feel out of place.☺☺.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Interacting with younger people lets us do away with the ‘seriousness’ of our age and can actually be quite refreshing.
      A is balding and greying too, like I said before. It is hilarious when our neighbour kids call me didi and him uncle. 😉😂😂😂 He spends lot more time on grooming himself than I do. 😆

      Liked by 1 person

      1. You won’t believe how hair-obsessed he is, now that there are precious few. 😁 I have the duty of oil massaging his hair every other day and condition them too. I don’t remember when I did that last for my own hair. 😩

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Haha…..such a lovely post. I could relate to it so well. I remember when I got married, a girl in college maybe a couple of years younger than me addressed me ‘aunty’. It took me a few days to come out of that shock. The next time onwards my reaction was more of acceptance 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Same here! One of A’s nephews is not more than 5 years younger to me and he very diligently started calling me Mamiji when we got married. My friends were more shocked than I was! 😂
      I think we must take it in our stride. Acceptance, like you said, is easier. Thanks Radhika. ☺

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

